Further events are being planned - please check back regularly.

We would welcome suggestions of other events or projects

relevant to the themes of the festival.

 

 

The following events are confirmed - venues and full details to follow soon:

 

Sunday 9 June - Woodbury Salterton scarecrow competition at Holy Trinity Church and Glebe Field - will include a small display about William Keble Martin, as a taster for the exhibition at the Flower Festival in St Swithun's in July,

Thursday 20 June - Talk - Sam Bridgewater from the Pebblebed Heaths Conservation Trust

Sunday 23 June - Wildflower walk in Woodbury village - Melanie Shaw, medical herbalist

Mondays 24 June, 1, 8 and 25 July - Wildflower painting workshops, oil paint and other media - Daniel Holmes Adams

Thursday 27 June - Talk - Bob Hodgson, North Devon Recorder for the Botanical Society of Britain and Ireland, will talk about compiling the New Devon Flora, nearly 80 years after the previous version co-edited by William Keble Martin.

 

Saturday 30 June - Storytelling for families - Lisa Schneidau at the Community Orchard, Woodbury

Thursday 4 July - Sam Bridgewater - Nature Walk to mires on Woodbury Common

Sunday 7 July - Writing workshop, "Poetry in Nature," Roselle Angwin

Fri 12- Sun 14 July - St Swithun's Woodbury, Flower Festival and Exhibition themed around the life and work of William Keble Martin and the wildflower designs of the embroidered kneelers.

Thursday 8 August - St Andrew's Church, Exton - Talk - Gavin Haig, "Creating a wildflower garden"

Sunday 6 October - Writing workshop - "Poetry in Nature," Roselle Angwin

Thursday 7 November - Talk - Woodbury Village Hall, joint meeting with Local History Society - Andrew Cooper, 

"Wild Days and Medieval Knights" - the wildlife and history of the 'secret' valley in S Devon, where William Keble Martin was vicar at one time.

Sat 23 November - Exhibition - Woodbury Village Hall - history of the local natural environment, oral histories, paintings, photographs, writing and other projects completed throughout the festival.

Sun 24 November - Commemoration service - St Swithun's Church, Woodbury

Also planned - star-gazing, wildflower planting with Wild Woodbury, and further talks, walks, and workshops..... TBC